Centre d'Archives et de Recherches pour l'Histoire des Femmes

Women's history by country


A random selection from archives, research centres, associations for women's history by country: 



BELGIUM  

 

Suzan Daniel Fund
Languages: Dutch, English, French
Services: collection, newsletter
The Suzan Daniel Fund was founded in 1996 to secure the collective memory of the LGBT Movement. It doesn't have a depot of its own for the preservation of archives, but it works together with archive centres, such as the AVG. On the website there is more information to find on the activities of the Fund: sensitizing actions, exhibitions, the newsletter ‘Het ondraaglijk besef' etc.


Documentation centre Rol en Samenleving (RoSa)
Languages: Dutch, French, English
The website of RoSa offers in the section ‘Het geheugen' a lot of information on women's history: a timeline, fact sheets, portraits of important women... Also the underlying webpages ‘Eerste Hulp bij Feministes' en ‘De RoZe Kant' (portraits of lesbians) are interesting. Naturally there is also information to find on the archives that RoSa preserves and there is an online catalogue with a lot of books on women's history.

Other archive centres that preserve ‘women's archives' can be found in the database "Women's Archives Belgium". A number of archive centres in Belgium preserve archives concerning the history of the women's movement. With this database the AVG makes it possible to look up which archive centres preserve which archives. Except for our own collection, the information dates from 1994. The database also links to the websites of the mentioned archive centres, where later additions can often be found.

 


FRANCE  

 

Mnémosyne
Language: French
Services: news, links
Mnémosyne aims at promoting the development of women's and gender history in France. The website contains an agenda of colloquia and congresses on women's history that are organised in France or abroad. Moreover you can find a series of links to websites of other organizations.


Centre des Archives du Féminisme
Language: French
This centre originated in 2000 at the University of Angers and dedicates itself to the preservation of archives of women's organizations and feminist militants in France. The website permits to follow the state of affairs concerning women's history in France.


Aspasie
Language: French
The Fund Aspasie, housed in the Institut Universitaire de Formation des Maitres (IUFM, Lyon), collects material about women's and gender history in education. The collection is included in the online catalogue of the IUFM as a separate section.


Bibliothèque Marguerite Durand
Languages: French, English
The Bibliothèque Marguerite Durand doesn't have a website of her own yet, but is a household word in France. She was established in 1931, starting from the collection of feminist Marguerite Durand. The first matter of importance is the library function (30 000 books, more than 1000 titles of magazines), but the centre preserves also a number of archives and manuscripts.

 


THE NETHERLANDS  

 

Atria - Kennisinstituut voor emancipatie en vrouwengeschiedenis
Languages: Dutch, English
Services: databases, discussion lists, links, RSS
Atria, formerly Internationaal Informatiecentrum en Archief van de Vrouwenbeweging (IIAV, until 2009) and Aletta (until 2012), has a content rich website at its disposal. The library catalogue and other databases give access to the collections. Next to that there are teaching packages, news about running projects, a database for experts, the database Mapping the World with information on more than 400 women's information centres worldwide.


Vereniging voor Vrouwengeschiedenis (VVG)
Languages: Dutch, English*
Services: adresses, links, dossiers, images
The Vereniging voor Vrouwengeschiedenis supports research in women's history in the Netherlands. The website keeps you informed about the state of affairs of this research and links to other websites concerning women's history.


Virtual Library Women's History (IISG)
Languages: English, Dutch
The Dutch Internationaal Instituut voor Sociale Geschiedenis (IISG) brings links together in the Virtual Library Women's History to archive centres, museums, databases, research institutions, associations, discussion lists, thematic websites... worldwide concerning women's history.
The perfect starting point to explore the web, although you sometimes have to plough through some long lists.
Moreover the IISG-website contains the ViVa-database, with references to articles on women's history from specialist journals worldwide.


Digitaal Vrouwenlexicon van Nederland (DVN)
Languages: Dutch, English
The Digitaal Vrouwenlexicon van Nederland (DVN, started in 2003) offers short biographical sketches of women who played a role in the history of the Netherlands and its overseas territories of the earliest times till around 1850. At the beginning of 2009 seven hundred fifty women with an entry were recorded in the lexicon. Via the reaction form suggestions for additions are welcome. Finished biographies are published directly on the website; the file of entries for consult is slowly but surely expanding.

 


LUXEMBURG

CID-Femmes
Languages: German, French
Cid-femmes manages a library and the forum on women and music “Euterpe”, with over 20.000 books, CD’s, sheet music and periodicals. The collection covers a wide variety of themes, from the international women’s movement, research on gender, women’s art and biographies to literature and youth literature with female characters.

 


UNITED KINGDOM  

 

The Women's Library
Language: English
The Women's Library (formerly Fawcett Library) is the pre-eminent reference concerning women's archives in the United Kingdom. The website contains various online databases: the library catalogue, databases for the archive and museum collection, a database under construction "gender assessment at the London Metropolitan University". Other electonic reference databases are not accessible to everone. The Women's Library also coordinates the work at the Genesis-database (http://www.genesis.ac.uk/), with an overview of sources for women's history in Great Britain. Furthermore links, a calendar of events, possibility to subscribe to a newsletter...


Sisterhood and After : An Oral History of the Women's Liberation Movement
Language: English
The project ‘Sisterhood and After' is the first major oral history project, initiated by the Leverhulme Trust, in collaboration with the University of Sussex, the British Library and the Women's Library. It documents memories of women that were at the forefront of the Women's Liberation Movement in the 1970s and ‘80s. The interviews with feminists are online accessible and accompagnied by images and documentation on the treated subject, such as: family and children, sexuality, bodies and minds, education, activism, etc.

 

Feminist Archive North and South
Language: English
Services: collections, news, blog, oral history interviews online
The Feminist Archive is held in two locations in the United Kingdom, in Leeds (Feminist Archive North) and Bristol (Feminist Archive South). The Feminist Archive houses collections on women, women’s movements, organizations, groups, conferences, research interviews, audio-visual and ephemera. It holds local, regional and inter/national feminist newsletters, journals, pamphlets and posters.

 

Feminist Library
Language: English
The Feminist Library in London is an independent and activist library and archive. It holds a large archive collection of Women’s Liberation Movement literature, particularly second-wave materials dating from the late 1960s to the 1990s. The Feminist Library supports research, activist and community projects.

 

Glasgow Women’s Library
Language: English
Services: lending library, archive and museum collections
Glasgow Women’s Library is an Accredited Museum housing a lending library, archive collections and museum artifacts that celebrate the lives and achievements of women. Set up in 1991, it delivers several innovative projects as well as programmes of events, learning opportunities and other activities to diverse audiences all over Scotland. Since 1995 it also houses the national Lesbian Archives.

 


GERMANY - AUSTRIA - SWITZERLAND  

 

i.d.a - Dachverband deutschsprachiger Frauen / Lesbenarchive, -bibliotheken und -dokumentationsstellen
Languages: German, English
Services: adresses, links
i.d.a. covers since 1994 German women's and lesbian libraries, archive centres and documentation centres. More than 30 centres from Germany, Austria, Swizerland and Luxembourg can be found on the i.d.a.-website, by name, location, thematic or formal accents in the collection or by selecting a specific service (Who has material on the international women's movement? Where can you find photos? What catalogues are online?). Since 2012 , META, a common database for the different centres, allows you to search in the catalog of all these institutions.


Stiftung Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung
Languages: German, English
The "Stiftung Archiv der deutschen Frauenbeweg'(ung" conserves archives on women's history and women's movements in Germany from 1800 untill the 1960s. The Foundation also organises seminars, conferences, concerts and exhibitions to promote women's history. The online catalogue makes it possible to do research in the collection of the reference library and in a few inventories of archives. The Foundation published the magazine Ariadne, specialised in gender studies (2x/year), and a few scientific works.

 

Ariadne - Women's Studies Documentation
Languages: German, English   
Services: collections, online sources and bibliographies
Ariadne - Women's Studies Documentation Center was set up in 1992 at the Austrian National Library as a documentary service specialising in women’s issues, and accepted holdings of specifically women’s issues in a particular manner. Among the tasks are: collection and editing of literature on women, feminism, and gender studies; announcing the historical holdings; setting up of a database on female- and gender-specific literature; giving advice on research and carrying it out.

 

Gosteli Fund
Languages: French, English, German, Italian
The Gosteli Fund, founded in 1982, is an archive centre specialised in the history of the Swiss women's movement. The foundation has a library (with on line catalogue) and a photographic library at her disposal, she preserves magazines and posters, and makes a collection of biographical files. The archives cover the history of the women's movement in Switzerland from the beginning of the 20th century.


Archives du MLF
Language: French
The archives of the MLF, founded in 2009, preserve the archives of the Mouvement de Libération des Femmes of Geneva. 

 


SOUTHERN EUROPE   

 

Società Italiana delle Storice (SIS)
Languages: Italian, English
The SIS, founded in 1989, wants to encourage women's and gender history, in education as well as in research. The website pays among others attention to publications, seminars and congresses, research projects, vacancies and scholarships.Under ‘Biblioteca' it is possible to search through the contents of magazines and to consult a number of documents in pdf format, mostly texts from lectures and open letters.

 

Italian Women's Library
Languages: Italian, English
Services: collection, digital library
The Italian Women's Library in Bologna is today the principal collection specialized in women's culture, gender and feminist studies in Italy. A “Digital Library” project has started to digitalize rare books, documents and images to preserve them for posterity and make them accessible to the online user community.

Asociación Española de Investigación de Historia de las Mujeres - AEIHM
Language: Spanish
The Spanish association for women's history exists since 1992. Her website reports on the international colloquia and the biennial methodological seminars (with online reader) that are organised by the AEIHM. On the website a reference database is set up, you can subscribe to a discussion list and there are links to other websites.

 

Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers: Women's Magazines Digital Collections 
Languages : Spanish, English
Service : digitized collection
The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center at the University of Connecticut houses a rich collection of Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers. This collection reflects the history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with a wide selection of women's magazines written by men to appeal to an elite female audience. These magazines allow us to understand the social dimensions of women in this era in Spain. 20 titles from the collection are digitized and the text is searchable.

 


SCANDINAVIA  

 

Kvinnehistorie (Norway)
Language: Norwegian
Nicely designed website that unfolds in four chapters the Norwegian women's history: education, voting right, the feminism of the seventies and work. Next to that there are portraits of important women and a timeline. Every section has numerous possibilities to click further.


Kvindekilder (Denmark)
Languages: Danish, English
An initiative of the documentation centre Kvinfo, with a similar purpose as Kvinnehistorie. You can get acquainted with organizations, persons and themes that were important in the Danish women's history, and browse in the Biographical Lexicon of Danish Women or in the database women's magazines 1885-1920. A part of the entries about women's history is translated into English: they are on the English web pages of Kvinfo under the section ‘Women's history'.


KvinnSam - National resource library for gender studies (Zweden)
Languages: Swedish, English
Services: collections, online sources, databases
KvinnSam, located at Gothenburg University Library, is a special library for women's, men's and gender studies. The website gives an overview of the ‘women's archives' and access to various databases (bibliographies, PhD theses, experts gender studies...). Under 'The History of Nordic Women's Literature' there are articles of more then 800 authors from Nordic countries. Under the menu ‘portals' you can find web modules about the Swedish women's history: women's suffrage, the access to higher education, women's work, the second feminist wave and the women's movement.

 


CENTRAL AND EASTERN EUROPE  

 

Women's Memory: international project on oral history
Language: English, Czech
The Women's Memory project uses oral history and narrative interview methods to registrate the life stories and opinions of three generations of women (born between 1920-1962) in post-socialist countries. It was initiated in the beginning of 1990s by Gender Studies, o.p.s. in Prague, and covers meanwhile different countries. The website is mainly available in English and thoroughly informative, i.a. the followed methodology. 

 


UNITED STATES  

 

National Women's History Museum
Language: English
The NWHM was established in 1996. In expectation of moving into a building of their own in Washington D.C., it profiles itself mainly as a virtual museum (NWHM CyberMuseum), where online exhibitions on for example the suffrage movement and the role of women during World War II can be visited. Furthermore the website pays a lot of attention to the efforts to realize the physical museum.


Discovering American Women's History Online
Language: English
This database gives access to more than 600 digital archive collections (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) on women’s history in the United States. They are accessible by a simple and advanced search (by subject, place, time period, etc.) and a RSS-feed informs the users when something new is added. 


American women : A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
Language : English
This website is based on the homonymous publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States (Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2001) and functions as a gateway, a first stop for Library of Congress researchers who are working in the field of American women's history. The website gives access to internal resources of the library (documents, exhibitions, audio recordings) and to external resources.


Schlesinger Library
Language: English
The Schlesinger Library is one of the most elaborate libraries on the history of the women's movement of the United States. She originated in 1943 when Maud Wood Park donated her "Women's Rights Collection" to the formerly Radcliffe College (the ‘women's college' of Harvard University). The collection has been expanded systematically, also thanks to the efforts of Arthur Schlesinger and his wife Elizabeth Bancroft to whom the library has been called in 1965. The collection can be browsed via the library catalogue of Harvard University (select "Schlesinger" in the field location). The Schlesinger Library is part of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study of Harvard that pays a lot of attention to gender in the research themes.


Sophia Smith Collection
Language: English
The Smith College has a very rich library and archive on women's history and the history of the women's movement. The collection concerns mainly but not exclusively the United States. The website allows to browse the collections and contains a few online exhibitions.

 


CANADA

Canadian Committee on Women's History
Languages : English, French
The Canadian Committee on Women's History was founded in 1975 and aims to promote teaching and research in the field of women's history. Through the website you can read their newsletter, check their announcements and follow their activities. It also offers a large bibliography of resources in Canadian’s Women history. Web Resources however are only available on the English version of the site.

Ligne du temps de l’histoire des femmes au Québec
Language : French   
Services: online sources and biographies
Following a collaboration between the RéQEF (Réseau québécois en études féministes) and the CSF (Conseil du statut de la femme), the Ligne du temps de l’histoire des femmes au Québec is a web tool that presents the contribution of women and feminists to changing Québec society from 1600 to the present. This is the largest database on women's history produced in Quebec with nearly a thousand sections gathered under eight main themes, many links, bibliographic references and video clips.

Centre d'Archives et de Recherches pour l'Histoire des Femmes

L'histoire des femmes par pays  

Voici un petit aperçu de centres d'archives ou d'associations pour l’histoire des femmes classés par pays :

    - Belgique
    - France

    - Pays-Bas

    - Luxembourg

    - Grande-Bretagne

    - Allemagne - Autriche - Suisse

    - Europe du Sud

    - Pays scandinaves

    - Europe Centrale et Europe de l'Ouest

    - Etats-Unis

    - Canada

    


BELGIQUE


Centre de documentation Rol en Samenleving (RoSa)
Langues: néerlandais, (français, anglais)
Le site web de RoSa présente dans sa rubrique 'Het geheugen' des informations sur l'histoire des femmes : une ligne du temps, des portraits de femmes importantes,... Il offre aussi toutes sortes d'informations féministes. Le site contient aussi des informations sur les archives conservées à RoSa et on peut y consulter le catalogue en ligne qui contient de nombreux livres sur l'histoire des femmes.

Fonds Suzan Daniel
Langues: néerlandais, français, anglais
Le Fonds Suzan Daniel a été fondé en 1996 pour assurer la préservation de la mémoire collective du mouvement holebi. Le Fonds fait de la sensibilisation, organise des expositions, publie le bulletin d'info ‘Het ondraaglijk besef’ et travaille à la conservation des archives de personnes et d'organisations en collaboration avec d'autres centres d'archives dont le Centre d'Archives pour l'Histoire des Femmes.

D'autres centres d'archives qui conservent des archives 'femmes' en Belgique peuvent être retrouvés via la base de données 'Archives femmes en Belgique ' du Carhif. Cette base de données vous offre différentes pistes pour vos recherches d'archives.


FRANCE


Mnémosyne
Langue: français
Services: actualités, liens
Mnémosyne a pour but le développement de l'histoire des femmes et du genre en France. Un site à consulter pour suivre le développement de cette association et connaître l'agenda des colloques et autres événements relatifs à l'histoire des femmes organisés en France et à l'étranger. Le site contient aussi une série de liens vers d'autres institutions.

Centre des Archives du féminisme
Langue: français
Fondé en 2000 à l’Université d’Angers, le Centre des Archives du Féminisme veille à la préservation des archives des associations et des militantes féministes françaises. Une initiative à encourager et un site pour suivre l’actualité de l’histoire des femmes en France.

Aspasie
Langue : français
Le Fonds Aspasie, hébergé à l’Institut Universitaire de Formation des Maîtres (IUFM, Lyon), rassemble du matériel sur l’histoire des femmes et du genre dans une perspective pédagogique pour l’enseignement. La collection constitue une section particulière du catalogue en ligne de l’IUFM.

Bibliothèque Marguerite Durand
Langues: français, anglais
La Bibliothèque Marguerite Durand ne possède pas encore de site web propre mais est un lieu de référence pour la France. Elle a été créée en 1931 à partir de la collection de la féministe Marguerite Durant. Sa mission de bibliothèque domine (30.000 livres, plus de 1.000 revues), mais le centre conserve aussi des archives et des manuscrits. 


PAYS-BAS  

 

Atria - Kennisinstituut voor emancipatie en vrouwengeschiedenis
Langues: néerlandais, anglais
Services: banques de données, bibliographies, listes de discussion, liens
Connu jusqu'en septembre 2009 comme l'International Informatiecentrum en Archief van de Vrouwenbeweging (IIAV), puis comme Aletta jusqu'en 2012, Atria propose un site Web riche en contenu. Le catalogue de la bibliothèque et une série d'autres banques de données donnent accès aux collections. De plus, on peut trouver des dossiers pédagogiques, les dernières nouvelles relatives à des projets en cours, une base de données d'experts, la base "Mapping the World of Women's Information" qui renseigne sur plus de 400 centres d'information à travers le monde, ...

Vereniging voor Vrouwengeschiedenis - VVG
Langues: néerlandais, anglais
Services: adresses, liens, dossier, images
La Vereniging voor Vrouwengeschiedenis soutient la recherche en histoire des femmes aux Pays-Bas. Un site à consulter pour suivre l’actualité de l’histoire des femmes aux Pays-Bas et trouver adresses et liens avec d’autre sites consacrés à l’histoire des femmes.

Virtual Library Women’s History (IISG)
Langues: anglais, néerlandais
Services: bibliographie, banque de données, liens
Un site qui permet d’accéder à une riche bibliographie courante d'articles concernant l'histoire des femmes (ViVa). Il offre aussi de nombreux liens avec d’autres sites web sur l’histoire des femmes en Europe et dans le monde, dont la description et le classement en différentes catégories (chronologique, géographique, ...) rendent la recherche aisée et agréable. Enfin, il renvoie vers le site Web de l'ISSG, qui permet d'explorer leur propre collection en rapport avec l'histoire des femmes.

Digitaal Vrouwenlexicon van Nederland (DVN)
Langue: néerlandais, anglais
Lancé en 2003, le Digital Vrouwenlexicon van Nederland offre de courtes notices biographiques sur les femmes qui ont joué un rôle dans l'histoire des Pays-Bas et de ses territoires d'outre-mer, depuis les temps les plus reculés jusqu'aux environs de 1850. Une fois achevées, les biographies sont directement publiées sur le site Web et des suggestions ou remarques peuvent être envoyées via un formulaire. Début 2009, 750 femmes figuraient dans le fichier.

 


LUXEMBOURG 


CID-Femmes
Langues : français, allemand
Le Cid-femmes gère une bibliothèque et dirige le forum femmes et musique “Euterpe”. Il possède quelque 20.000 livres, CDs, partitions et périodiques. L’éventail des thèmes va du mouvement féministe international à la recherche sur le genre, de l’art féminin et des biographies de femmes à la littérature et à la littérature jeunesse, riche en figures féminines.


GRANDE-BRETAGNE


The Women's Library
Langue: anglais
Le Women's Library est le centre pour l’histoire des femmes de référence pour la Grande-Bretagne. Le site web offre plusieurs bases de données en ligne : catalogue de bibliothèque, collection d’archives et le musée, banque de données (en construction) sur les expert-e-s en genre à la London Metrolopitan University. Certaines bases de données ont un accès limité. La Women’s Library coordonne aussi la réalisation de la base de données Genesis (http://www.genesis.ac.uk/) qui donne un aperçu des sources pour l’histoire des femmes en Grande-Bretagne. On trouve encore sur ce site des liens, un calendrier d’activités, la possibilité de s’inscrire à une lettre d’information électronique…

Sisterhood and After : An Oral History of the Women's Liberation Movement
Langue: anglais
Initiée par le Leverhulme Trust en partenariat avec l'Université du Sussex, la British Library et la Women's Library, le projet Sisterhood and After est le premier projet majeur d'histoire orale documenté par des mémoires de femmes ayant participé au mouvement de libération des femmes des années 1970 - 80. Les interviews des féministes sont disponibles en ligne et agrémentées d'images et de documentation en fonction du sujet évoqué, comme par exemple: la famille, les enfants, la sexualité, le corps, légalité des droits au travail, la violence domestique, l'éducation, etc.

Feminist Archive North and South 
Langue : anglais
Services : collections, nouvelles, blog, interviews et mémoires orales en ligne
Les Feminist Archives se retrouvent dans deux endroits au Royaume-Uni : à Leeds (Feminist Archive North) et à Bristol (Feminist Archive South). Les deux centres conservent les archives de femmes et des mouvements et organisations de femmes, des conférences, des études, des interviews, etc. Ils possèdent également une collection audio-visuelle et des bulletins d'information, journaux, brochures et affiches féministes locaux, régionaux et inter/nationaux.

Feminist Library
Langue : anglais
La Feminist Library à Londres et une bibliothèque indépendante et activiste créée en 1975. Elle abrite une large collection d’archives, principalement sur le féminisme de la deuxième vague (1960-1990). La Feminist Library soutient la recherche, l’activisme et les projets communautaires.

Glasgow Women's Library
Langue : anglais
Services : bibliothèque de prêt, archives et collection muséale
Glasgow Women’s Library est un musée accrédité, possédant aussi une bibliothèque de prêt, des collections d'archives et des objets qui célèbrent les accomplissements des femmes. Créée en 1991, elle met en place de nombreux projets innovateurs, évènements et autres activités pour un large public. Depuis 1995, elle conserve également les archives lesbiennes nationales.


ALLEMAGNE - AUTRICHE - SUISSE

i.d.a - Dachverband deutschsprachiger Frauen / Lesbenarchive, -bibliotheken und –dokumentationsstellen
Langues: allemand, anglais
Services: adresses, liens
i.d.a. rassemble depuis 1994 les bibliothèques, centres d’archives et centres de documentation féminins et lesbiens de langue allemande. Plus de 30 centres d’Allemagne, Autriche, Suisse et Luxembourg  peuvent être retrouvés via i.d.a. suivant leur nom, leur localisation, leur spécialisation et les services qu’ils offrent (ex. Qui possède du matériel sur le mouvement féminin international? Où trouver des photos? Quels catalogues sont en ligne?). Depuis 2012, META, une base de données commune aux différentes organisations, permet de chercher dans le catalogue de toutes ces institutions.

Stiftung Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung
Langues: allemand, anglais
La "Stiftung Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung" conserve des archives relatives à l'histoire des femmes et des mouvements de femmes en Allemagne des années 1800 aux années 1960. En plus de sa mission de conservation, elle organise différents séminaires, conférences, concerts et expositions afin de promouvoir l'histoire des femmes. Le catalogue en ligne permet d'effectuer des recherches dans la collection de la bibliothèque de références ainsi que dans certains inventaires de fonds d'archives. La Fondation publie également la revue Ariadne, spécialisée dans les études de Genre (2x/an) ainsi qu'une série d'ouvrages scientifiques.

Ariadne - Women's Studies Documentation
Langues : allemand, anglais
Services : collections, ressources en ligne et bibliographies
Ariadne, a été fondé en 1992 au sein de la bibliothèque nationale d’Autriche en tant que service de documentation spécialisé sur les problématiques des femmes. Parmi ses tâches on retrouve la gestion et la promotion de sa collection en littérature sur les femmes, le féminisme et les études de genre et la création d’une base de données sur les femmes et le genre. Le centre offre aussi des conseils aux chercheurs et mène ses propres projets.

Fondation Gosteli
Langues: français, anglais, allemand, italien
La Fondation Gosteli a été créée en 1982 et est un centre d’archives sur l’histoire du mouvement féminin en Suisse. Elle possède une bibliothèque avec catalogue en ligne, une photothèque, des revues, affiches, dossiers biographiques, ...  Ses fonds d’archives permettent de retracer l’histoire du mouvement féminin suisse depuis le début du 20ème siècle.

Archives du MLF
Langue: français
Les archives du MLF, créée en 2009, conservent et ouvrent au public les archives du Mouvement de Libération des Femmes de Genève.


EUROPE DU SUD


Società Italiana delle Storice
Langues: italien, anglais
Le SIS, fondée en 1989, veut encourager la recherche et l’enseignement de l’histoire des femmes et du genre. Le site web informe sur des publications, des journées d’études et des congrès, des projets des recherche, des vacances d’emploi ou des bourses. Sous ‘Biblioteca’, il est possible de rechercher dans les tables de matières de différentes revues et de consulter un certain nombre de documents en pdf (textes de conférences et lettres ouvertes).

Italian Women's Library
Langues : italien, anglais
Services : collection, bibliothèque digitale
L’Italian Women's Library à Bologne possède aujourd’hui la collection spécialisée en féminisme et en études de genre la plus importe d’Italie. Avec le projet “Digital Library”, elle a commencé à numériser des livres rares, images et autres documents afin de les préserver et de les rendre accessibles à la communauté d'utilisateurs en ligne.

Asociación Española de Investigación de Historia de las Mujeres (AEIHM)
Langue: espagnol
L’association espagnole pour l’histoire des femmes existe depuis 1992. Son site web annonce les colloques internationaux et les séminaires méthodologiques semestriels organisé par l’Association (avec des rapports en ligne). On peut s’y connecter à une base de données de références, s’inscrire à une liste de discussion, ... Des liens renvoient à d’autres sites.

Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers : Women's Magazines Digital Collections  
Langues : espagnol, anglais
Service : collection numérisée
Le centre de recherches Thomas J. Dodd de l’Université du Connecticut possède une riche collection de périodiques et journaux espagnols. Cette collection reflète l’histoire de l’Espagne à travers des journaux et périodiques du 18ème au 20ème siècle, avec une large sélection de magazines féminins écrits par des hommes pour plaire à l’élite féminine. Ces magazines nous permettent de comprendre la dimension sociale des femmes de cette époque en Espagne. 20 titres de la collection ont été numérisés et il est possible d’effectuer une recherche au sein des textes.


PAYS SCANDINAVES


Kvinnehistorie (Norvège)
Langue: norvégien
Beau site qui donne de l’information sur quatre grands thèmes de l’histoire des femmes en Norvège : l’enseignement, le droit de vote, le féminisme des années 1970 et le travail. A côté de cela, il y a aussi des portraits de femmes importantes et une ligne du temps. Chaque page offre une multitude de possibilités. Seulement accessible en norvégien.

Kvindekilder (Danemark)
Langues: danois, anglais
Une initiative du centre de documentation Kvinfo qui s’apparente à celle du Kvinnehistorie. On peut en apprendre davantage sur les organisations, les individus et les thèmes importants de l’histoire des femmes danoises, mais aussi surfer dans le Dictionnaire biographique des femmes danoises ou dans la base de données de revues féminines de 1885 à 1920. Une partie des articles relatifs à l’histoire des femmes est traduit en anglais : Ils se trouvent sur la page anglophone du site de la Kvinfo sous la rubrique 'Women's history'. Seulement accessible en danois.

KvinnSam - National resource library for gender studies (Suède)
Langues: suédois, anglais
Services: collections, sources en ligne, bases de données
KvinnSam, à l’Université de Göteborg, est une bibliothèque spécialisée en études des femmes, des hommes et du genre. Le site web offre un aperçu des archives et un accès à différentes banques de données (bibliographie, thèses de doctorat, études du genre…). Sous le menu 'The History of Nordic Women's Literature' se trouvent des articles de plus de 800 auteures scandinaves. Sous le menu ‘Portals’ se trouvent différents modules web sur l’histoire des femmes suédoises : Le droit de vote des femmes, l'accès à l'enseignement supérieur, le travail des femmes, la deuxième vague féministe et le mouvement des femmes pour la paix.


EUROPE CENTRALE ET DE L'EST


Women's memory : international project on oral history
Langues: Anglais, Tchèque
Le projet ‘Women’s Memory’ utilise l’histoire orale et les méthodes d’interview narratives pour enregistrer les histoires de vie et les opinions de trois générations de femmes (née entre 1920-1962) dans les ‘pays post-socialistes’. Le projet a été lancé dans les années 1990 par des Études de Genre, o.p.s. à Prague, et a atteint entre-temps plusieurs pays. Le siteWeb est disponible en grande partie en anglais et contient des parties très instructives, comme par exemple celle sur la méthodologie suivie.


ETATS-UNIS


National Women’s History Museum
Langue: anglais
Le Musée National d’Histoire des Femmes a été fondé en 1996. En attendant de pouvoir disposer d’une bâtiment à Washington, il se profile surtout comme un musée virtuel (NWHM CyberMuseum). Des expositions sont accessibles en ligne sur le mouvement des suffragettes et sur le rôle des femmes durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Le site met en avant les efforts qui sont faits pour créer un véritable musée. 

Discovering American Women's History Online
Langue: anglais
Cette base de données donne accès à plus de 600 collections d'archives numérisées (photos, lettres, journaux intimes, artéfacts, etc.) relatives à l'histoire des femmes aux Etats-Unis. Celles-ci sont accessibles via une recherche simple et une recherche avancée (par sujets, lieux, périodes, etc.) et un flux RSS peut avertir les utilisateurs lors de l'arrivée d'un nouvel enregistrement.

American women : A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
Langue: anglais
Développé d'après un guide éponyme sorti en 2001, ce site se veut être une passerelle, une première étape dans la recherche sur l'Histoire des Femmes américaines dans la collection de la Library of Gongress. Il donne accès directement aux ressources internes de la bibliothèque (notices, expositions, enregistrements sonores, photos) et aux ressources externes.

Schlesinger Library
Langue: anglais
La Schlesinger Library est l’une des bibliothèques les plus importantes sur l’histoire des femmes aux États-Unis. Elle a été fondée en 1943 lorsque Maud Wood Park a donné sa collection “Women’s Rights Collection” au Radcliffe College (le (the ‘women's college' de l'université d'Harvard). La collection s'est étendue, notamment grâce aux efforts d'Arthur Schlesinger et de sa femme Elizabeth Bancroft, dont la bibliothèque a pris le nom en 1965. Il est possible de rechercher parmi la collection via le catalogue en ligne de la bibliothèque d'Harvard (sélectionner "Schlesinger" dans les champs de recherche). La Schlesinger Library fait partie du Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study of Harvard qui porte beaucoup d'attention au genre comme thème de recherche.

Sophia Smith collection
Langue : anglais
Le Smith College possède une riche bibliothèque d'archives sur l'histoire des femmes et des mouvements de femmes. La collection concerne principalement, mais pas exclusivement, les Etats-Unis. Le site web permet de chercher parmi les collections et contient quelques expositions virtuelles.


CANADA


Canadian Committee on Women's History
Langues : anglais, français
Le Comité canadien de l'histoire des femmes a été fondé en 1975 et a pour mission de favoriser l’enseignement et la recherche dans le domaine de l’histoire des femmes. Le site Web du comité permet de consulter le bulletin d’information et les annonces publiées par celui-ci, ainsi que de suivre leurs actualités. Il propose aussi une large bibliographie de ressources sur l’histoire des femmes canadiennes. Les ressources Web ne sont cependant consultables que dans la version anglaise du site.

Ligne du temps de l’histoire des femmes au Québec
Langue : français
Services : ressources en ligne et biographies
Issue d’une collaboration entre le RéQEF (Réseau québécois en études féministes) et le CSF (Conseil du statut de la femme), la Ligne du temps de l’histoire des femmes au Québec est un outil Web qui présente la contribution des femmes et des féministes à l’évolution de la société québécoise de 1600 à nos jours. Il s’agit  de la plus grande base de données sur l’histoire des femmes produite au Québec. Elle compte près d’un millier de rubriques réunies sous huit grandes thématiques, de nombreux liens internet et références bibliographiques et des capsules vidéo.