Archive and Research Centre for Women's History

Collections

Affiche

In order to start your research for documents, you can check our catalogue. Within this catalogue you will find a general description of the archives that we preserve accompanied with a PDF version of their inventory (if available). Furthermore you can browse our books, magazines, brochures, posters, photos...

Our new public catalogue has been online since March 1, 2019. Please inform us if you encounter any errors and / or problems.

 > Catalogue


 Archives
The AVG conserves archives of personalities or associations who have been actively engaged in gender equality. Most of these archives concern the Belgian (and sometimes international) women's movement. The personal archives contain documents from pioneering women in different fields, researchers in gender studies or politicians. As partner of The Suzan Daniel Fund, The AVG also keeps the archives of the lesbian movement.

Books, brochures and magazines
The library collection of the AVG carries quite a number of publications that highlight the evolution of women's social position and the history of the women's movement and of other actors of gender equality. The collection of magazines covers the entire spectrum of the women's movement, containing foreign titles as well.

A reference library with recent works on women’s history is available in the reading room.

Posters
The poster collection illustrates a wide range of actions within the women's movement, among them the equal opportunities policy... (mainly since the 1960s). All the posters can be consulted online and can be downloaded in low resolution. Reproductions with a higher resolution are available on request.

The photo collection
The photo collection brings to life the women from both the Belgian and international women’s movement, and makes actions and assemblies from the past tangible. The pictures will be progressively added to the descriptions in the catalogue. Reproductions of these photographs are possible under certain conditions.

Biographical information
The AVG preserves biographical information (publicly available) on women who have played an important role in Belgian history, in the women’s movement as well as in other realms. The list can be consulted internally.

Centre d'Archives et de Recherches pour l'Histoire des Femmes

Collections du Carhif

AA49

Vous pouvez vous rendre sur le catalogue des collections du Carhif pour commencer votre recherche de documents. Vous y trouverez une description générale des archives que nous conservons avec une version PDF de l'inventaire, lorsque celui-ci est disponible, et pourrez y parcourir nos livres, revues, brochures, affiches, photos…

Notre nouveau catalogue public est en ligne depuis le 1er mars 2019. Si vous rencontrez des erreurs et/ou des problèmes, merci de nous le signaler. 

> Catalogue      


Les fonds d’archives
Le Carhif conserve de nombreux fonds d’archives de personnalités ou d’associations attachées à l’égalité f/h/x. La majorité de ces archives concernent le mouvement féminin belge (parfois international). Les fonds personnels contiennent les archives de pionnières dans différents domaines, de chercheuses en études de genre ou de responsables politiques. En tant que partenaire du Fonds Suzan Daniel, le Carhif conserve aussi les archives du mouvement lesbien.

Les livres, brochures et revues
La bibliothèque du Carhif possède une série de publications qui mettent en lumière l'évolution de la position sociale des femmes et l'histoire du mouvement des femmes et des autres acteurs de l’égalité f/h/x. La collection de revues couvre tout le spectre du mouvement des femmes avec également un certain nombre titres étrangers.
Une bibliothèque d'ouvrages de référence sur l'histoire des femmes est mise à la disposition du public en salle de lecture.

Les affiches
La collection d'affiches illustre un large éventail d’actions du mouvement féminin et féministe, de la politique d'égalité des chances... (principalement depuis les années 1960). Toutes les affiches sont consultables en ligne et peuvent être téléchargées en basse résolution. Les reproductions avec une résolution plus élevée sont disponibles sur demande.

La photothèque
La collection de photographies donne vie aux actions et aux rassemblements passés et met un visage sur des personnalités belges et étrangères du mouvement féminin et féministe. Les images seront progressivement ajoutées aux descriptions des photos. Il est possible, sous certaines conditions, de demander des reproductions de ces photographies.

Les informations biographiques
Le Carhif possède des dossiers biographiques (avec des informations consultables publiquement) sur de nombreuses personnalités féminines qui ont joué un rôle dans l’histoire de la Belgique, tant au sein mouvement des femmes qu’en dehors de celui-ci. La liste peut être consultée en interne.